Indian Premier League Betting Guide: Sites, Apps & Free Bets

The Indian Premier League is a Twenty20 cricket league in India contested during April and May of every year. Competing teams are from Indian cities and some states. 

The IPL is the most attended cricket league in the world. The IPL is the most attended cricket league in the world and ranks as the sixth most watched sports league in the world. Given the huge amount of interest in the league, IPL betting online is big business. Given the huge amount of interest in the league, IPL betting online is big business.






IPL History


The league was founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI).   However, the original concept for the Indian Premier League was devised by Lalit Modi in 2007. Modi based the new venture on the English Premier League and the NBA.  This venture was due to the reaction to the formation of the Indian Cricket League. 

There are currently eight teams, each team plays each other twice in a home-and-away round-robin format in the league phase, which climaxes with a knockout finale. 

The eight franchises were created during the first edition in 2008. An auction was held where investors purchased a place in the league. The franchises were assigned to host cities throughout India. 

Teams acquire players via three methods: 

  • Annual player auction – Every December the player auction takes place. Players sign up for the auction setting their own base price. They are then bought by the franchise that bids the highest for them. Unsold players at the auction are eligible to be signed up as replacement signings. 
  • Trading players with other teams during the trading windows
  • Signing replacements for unavailable players

A player has a one year contract. The franchise has the option to extend the contract by one or two years.

Betting on the IPL

Each season, between April and May, millions are wagered on the outcome of the league. The bookmakers are well aware of how popular it is and have all of the latest IPL odds for every match. Odds are available covering dozens of outcomes for each of the franchises.  Sites such as 888sport have an impressive selection of markets. 


Free Bets

Everyone loves a free bet on cricket. Whilst specific offers are sometimes occasionally available for the event each year it is more common for bettors to claim the standard free bet offers that bookmakers make available for new customers. 

One of the most popular offers is the one from 888sport. Details of the current offer can be seen in the table below.

888sport free betAdvertisement
Bet £10 get £30 in Free Bets & £10 Casino Bonus
Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Casino Bonus must be claimed within 7 days • To withdraw bonus/related wins, wager bonus amount x40 within 14 days • Wagering req. vary by game • Withdrawal restrictions and Full T&C’s apply
18+ ; Country Restrictions May Apply
Details Correct at Time of Writing (8.4.20)
Claim Now

If you would like to take a look at the other offers that are available take a look at our free bet page. 


Best Bookmaker’s To Bet on the IPL With

Most bookmakers have markets available each year in their dedicated IPL section of their  online betting sites. In our opinion, 888sport always has great odds available for the Indian Premier League Winner Betting Odds, whilst we also think that Betfred have superb Top Batsman Betting Odds. 

There are a plethora of betting sites and with the eyes of the cricket world firmly fixed on the IPL each year, the bookies have some superb betting options available. From low stakes to large bonuses, online IPL betting, and cricket betting, in general, are great some of them. 

We have a post that looks specifically at the sites which are best for wagering on the cricket. 

Read more: Best Cricket Betting Sites


In-Play Betting

IPL live betting is extremely popular. Betting in-play on the matches can be very exciting. There are a range of markets and odds available for every outcome possible during the game. Live stats and other tools mean that you can make informed choices about how your betting proceeds. 



IPL Betting on Mobile


If you fancy a live bet whilst you are out and about it won’t be a problem. All of the betting sites listed on our site have an app for Android and iPhone. If you have a windows or blackberry phone you will be able to access their mobile optimised site.  You can have a punt on the move with one of the best sports betting apps.





IPL Betting Tips

When betting it’s always a good idea to have as much information available as possible. The 888sport site has a steady stream of news, reviews and betting tips. They also have stats available so you can get a deeper insight into the league.  If you need to know who’s going to dominate in 2019 or some predictions on the franchises they have everything you’ll need. 

Read more: 888Sport Site Review

It can also be handy to know which teams have been successful in the past. Below you can see who has won the competition before.


There are currently 8 competing teams from cities and states in India.  

  • Chennai Super Kings are current title holders and one of most successful teams. They have won it 3 times (2010, 2011, 2018). 
  • Delhi Daredevils
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders won the title twice (2012, 2014)
  • Mumbai Indians are one of the most successful teams having won the title three times (2013, 2015, 2017).
  • Rajasthan Royals won the title once back in 2008
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad won the title in 2016





5 teams have won the competition. 2 teams have won it three times (Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians); The Kolkata Knight Riders have won it on two occasions and two teams have won it once (Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad). 


Latest News

If you want to read match previews, see quick stats, read interviews and find out what the latest news is, the official Indian Premier League website is the perfect place to get this information. 

IPL 2019 Player Auction

Registration for next seasons player auction closed on Tuesday with 1003 players, including 232 overseas cricketers signing up. The auction will takes place on December 18, 2018.

These players are looking fill the available 70 spots. 200 capped players, 800 uncapped and three players from Associate Nations applied.  746 of the 800 uncapped players are Indians. Cricketers from nine states – Arunachal Pradesh, Bihar, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Uttarakhand, Puducherry – have registered and will hope to showcase their talent in the world’s biggest T20 tournament. This is the first time in the history of the IPL.